GSoC Updates – Hildon and beyond

Progress

This post is meant to be a summary of my work over the last fifteeen days and a discussion on what follows, the issues I face and so on.  I have finally managed to get Hildon desktop running outside scratchbox, something I was stuck with when I gave my first report.  I  have a certain sort of UI running at the moment, and the recipes for which are done and will be released after testing this week. They are currently hosted at http://github.com/rkirti/maemo-oe/tree/master

Here are some screenshots :

Hildon-Desktop-work-in-progress
Hildon-Desktop-work-in-progress
Hildon-Desktop-Partial
Hildon-Desktop-Partial

Sometime back, this would have been a trivial task, given the work done on Hildon Desktop Portability by the previous maintainers. However,since then hildon-desktop has changed drastically to make this obsolete and has also seen some more closed components entering, so thanks to iphbd, its now impossible to get the latest hildon-desktop to build outside scratchbox.The one in the screenshot is the pre-alpha version with Mer patches and some fixes for dbus issues.

UI Issues :

The UI I have got working currently is a messy mixture of various things. Primarily because  the current HD uses non-free packages like osso-icons-default, hildon-home etc.  Any suggestions on how get over this, and integrate the procudure of obtaining  the non-free packages as well in OE would be more than welcome.  The theme used here is plankton  and the startup scripts and icons are  a mix of those from the previous work and from Mer.  I would need to decide what UI to closely follow and the options there would be : Diablo (may get deprecated soon) or Fremantle (difficult due to closed source components and lack of documentation on packages comprising the new UI).

Other things and the roadmap ahead:

I have also added/am adding recipes for some other packages for localization, connectivity sub-system etc.  Testing of the recipes begins this week and by next week, I hope to release a filesystem image running Maemo software on top of Angstrom built with OE. With the current configuration and recipes, it is easy to write a recipe and integrate any hildonized app. into OE.

Thats it from my side for now. Any suggestions on both the Hildon and OE fronts are more than welcome 🙂

Leave a comment